Thomas Hofmann, Günter Blöschl, 
Lois Lammerhuber, Werner Piller,
A.M. Celâl Şengör 
24,5 x 30,2 cm, 104 pages, 60 images
ISBN 978-3-901753-69-5
April 2014


THE FACE OF THE EARTH – The Legacy of Eduard Suess is a book „posthumus“ written by the „father of modern day geology“, Eduard Suess. On 26 April 2013 happens to be the centennial death anniversary of Suess. He was not only influential in geosciences  but also in society as a politician, built the Viennese water supply (among many other things), and he was a genuine European, born in England, living in Prague and Vienna. Many of his most important theses are still valid today. He defined themes like Thetys, Gondwana-Land or Biosphere, the Continental Breakup or the so called Long Distance Correlation. The themes refers to the diversity of geoscience processes and how form is related to process. The book THE FACE OF THE EARTH cuts across all disciplines compiling quotes of the excellent writer Suess, commented by some of todays most important geologists – Celâl Şengör, Günter Blöschl, Werner Piller and Thomas Hofmann – and mirrored and anchored in the photographes of Lois Lammerhuber.


A. M. Celâl Sengör

is a geologist with interest in global tectonics. His interest in geology was awakened by Jules Verne and in tectonics by Eduard Suess (whom he read as a high school student). He studied under John F. Dewey and Kevin Burke in Albany, New York. His subsequent work was mainly on Asia with oc­ casional forays into different continents including Europe, North America and Africa and theoretical tectonics. He has been a faculty member of Istanbul Technical University since 1981.

Günter Blöschl

is Professor of Hydrology, Director of the Centre for Water Resource Systems, and Head of the Institute of Hydraulic Engineering and Water Resources Management at the Vienna University of Technology. He has published extensively on subjects related to hydrology and water resources. He is Fellow of the American Geophysical Union, member of the German Academy of Science and Engineering, and recipient of an Advanced Grant of the European Research Council (ERC). Currently, he is the President of the European Geosciences Union.

Lois Lammerhuber

is a photographer and publisher. His close collaboration with GEO Magazine started in 1984, continues to this day, and has greatly influenced his approach to photography. His pictures have been published in hundreds of books and magazines and earned him international awards, including three times the Graphis Photo Awards for the world’s best photo report of the year. He joined the Art Directors Club New York in 1994. In 1996 he set up Edition Lammerhuber publishing house. In 2014 he received the Republic of Austria’s Cross of Honour, First Class, for Science and Art, followed in 2017 by the Golden Medal of Honour for Services to the City of Vienna, the Prize for Special Merit for Representative and Media Art by the City of Baden and the Grand Medal of Honour for Services to the Province of Lower Austria. In 2018 he became Director of the Festival La Gacilly-Baden Photo.

Thomas Hofmann

is Head of the library, archive and press of the Geological Survey of Austria. He has published numerous articles on geotopes as well as on various aspects of the history of the earth sciences, with a special focus on themes related to the Geological Survey of Austria. He is an active networker in promoting geosciences to a wider audience. His regular writings include many popular science articles, plus non­fiction books, travel guides and other specialist literature.

Werner E. Piller

is Professor of Palaeontology and Historical Geology at the University of Graz. His research spans fields ranging from taxonomy, palaeoecology and palaeoceanography, biogeography, stratigraphy to molecular biology. He has published numerous scientific papers, books and journal issues. He is a full member of the Austrian Academy of Sciences, Chair of the Austrian National Committee of Geosciences and the Austrian National Committee of Geo/Hydro­ Sciences, and President of the Regional Committee of Mediterranean Neogene Stratigraphy.